Banasthali Vidyapith gets Rajiv Gandhi Sadbhavana Award

Banasthali Vidyapith gets Rajiv Gandhi Sadbhavana Award


According to Congresswoman Sonia Gandhi, the promotion of peace, communal harmony, and national unity is more important when groups that espouse hate, prejudice, and discrimination are active and gain backing from those in positions of authority.

She made this statement at a ceremony to present Banasthali Vidyapith, a residential college for women in Rajasthan, with the 25th Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavana Award.

Rajiv Gandhi Sadbhavana Award

Purpose: The award was established to recognize and honour individuals or groups that have made outstanding contributions towards promoting communal harmony, national integration, and peace in India.

Institution: The award was instituted by the All India Congress Committee (AICC), the governing body of the Indian National Congress Party (INC), in the year 1992.

Named After: The award is named after Rajiv Gandhi, the former Prime Minister of India, as a tribute to his dedication to fostering unity and harmony among different communities.

Date of Presentation: The award is presented on August 20th, which marks the birth anniversary of Rajiv Gandhi. This date is also celebrated as Sadbhavana Diwas or Harmony Day.

Components of the Award: Recipients of the award are honoured with a citation recognizing their contributions and a cash award of Rs. ten lakhs.

Recipients: The award has been presented to a range of individuals and groups from various domains who have made notable efforts in promoting communal harmony and unity in India.

Who are the Prominent Recipients?

  • Mother Teresa: Known for her humanitarian work and dedication to serving the underprivileged.
  • Ustad Bismillah Khan: A legendary Shenai maestro and a cultural icon.
  • Muhammad Yunus: Founder of Grameen Bank, known for pioneering microcredit and social business.
  • Hiteswar Saikia: Former Assam Chief Minister recognized for his efforts in a conflict-prone region.
  • Subhadra Joshi: A freedom fighter who played a role in India’s independence struggle.
  • Lata Mangeshkar: Renowned playback singer, celebrated for her contributions to Indian music.
  • Sunil Dutt: Actor and politician who worked towards communal harmony.
  • Jagan Nath Kaul: A noted civil servant with a focus on social welfare.
  • Dilip Kumar: A legendary actor known for his contributions to Indian cinema.
  • Kapila Vatsyayan: Author and cultural historian, recognized for her work in preserving cultural heritage.