Exploring Biodiversity Heritage Sites

Exploring Biodiversity Heritage Sites

Biodiversity Heritage Site

#GS-03 Biodiversity

For Prelims:

Biodiversity Heritage Site:

Biodiversity Heritage Sites are areas that are unique, ecologically fragile ecosystems – terrestrial, coastal, inland and marine waters – having a rich biodiversity.

Sl No Biodiversity Heritage Site (BHS) District/State
1. Nallur Tamarind Grove Bangalore, Karnataka
2. Hogrekan Chikmagalur, Karnataka
3. University of Agricultural Sciences, Bengaluru Karnataka
4. Ambaraguda Karnataka
5. Glory of Allapalli Maharashtra
6. Tonglu BHS and Dhotrey BHS under the Darjeeling Forest Division Darjeeling, West Bengal
7. Dialong Village Manipur
8. Ameenpur lake Telangana
9. Majuli Assam
10. Gharial Rehabilitation Centre Lucknow,                 Uttar Pradesh
11. Chilkigarh Kanak Durga West Bengal
12. Khlaw Kur Syiem KmieIng Meghalaya
13. Purvatali Rai Goa
14. Mandasaru Odisha
15. Naro Hills Madhya Pradesh
16. Patalkot Madhya Pradesh
17. Asramam Kerala
18. Arittapatti and Meenakshipuram villages Madurai,                  Tamil Nadu


Biological Diversity Act, 2002:

  • Biodiversity Act 2002 is an Act of the Parliament of India enacted to conserve biological diversity in India.
  • The act was passed on February 5, 2003, and commenced on October 1, 2003, and July 1, 2004.
  • Biodiversity Act 2002 is the first attempt in India to legislate the conservation of biodiversity.

As per Section 37 of the Biological Diversity Act, 2002,

  1. State Governments can notify in the official gazette, in consultation with ‘local bodies’, areas of biodiversity importance as BHS.
  2. State Government in consultation with the Central Government may frame rules for the management and conservation of BHS.
  3. State Governments can frame schemes for compensating or rehabilitating anyone economically affected by such notification.


  • Biodiversity is the variation among living organisms from different sources including terrestrial, marine and desert ecosystems, and the ecological complexes of which they are a part.

Types of Biodiversity:

There are the following three different types of biodiversity:
  • Genetic Biodiversity
  • Species Biodiversity
  • Ecological Biodiversity

Source “Tamil Nadu gets its first biodiversity heritage site