Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC): A Deep Dive

Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC)

#GS 01 Art and Culture

For Prelims

Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC)

  • The Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC), informally known as the Censor Board, is a statutory body under the Information and Broadcasting Ministry.
  • CBFC is responsible for regulating the public exhibition of films under the provisions of the Cinematograph Act 1952 by certifying movies.
  • According to the provisions of the Cinematograph Act, 1952, and Cinematograph (Certification) Rules, 1983, CBFC is mandated to promote recreation, education, good and healthy entertainment to public.
  • Films can be publicly exhibited in India only after they are certified by the CBFC.
  • The CBFC board is headed by a chairperson and 12-45 non-official members appointed central government.
  • The appointed members are eminent persons from social science, education, law, arts or films background.
  • Its headquarters is located in Mumbai, Maharashtra.

Types of Certification

Films are certified under 4 categories.

  • “U” (unrestricted public exhibition)
  • “A” (restricted to adult audiences]
  • “U/A” (unrestricted public exhibition subject to parental guidance for children below the age of twelve) and
  • “S” (restricted to specialized audiences such as doctors or scientists).

The reasons for rejecting certification

The Section 5B in the Cinematograph Act, 1952, empowers the CBFC to refuse the certification of a film on the grounds of;

  • the sovereignty and integrity of India,
  • the security of the State,
  • friendly relations with foreign States,
  • public order,
  • decency or involves defamation or contempt of court or
  • is likely to incite the commission of any offense.

Source “The cuts run deep

For more updates Click Here