Conference on Interaction and Confidence Building Measures in Asia (CICA)

#GS-02 International Relations

For Prelims

About CICA:

  • The Conference on Interaction and Confidence-Building Measures in Asia is an inter-governmental forum for enhancing cooperation towards promoting peace, security and stability in Asia.
  • To be a member of CICA, a state must have at least a part of its territory in Asia.
  • The Secretariat of CICA is located in Astana, Kazakhstan.

Member states:

  • Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, Egypt, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Kuwait, Mongolia, Pakistan, Palestine, Qatar, Russia, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Vietnam. (28 Countries)

Observer states

  • Belarus, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United States. (9 Countries)

Observer organizations:

  • International Organization for Migration, League of Arab States, Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe, Parliamentary Assembly of Turkic Speaking Countries, United Nations. (5 Organisations)

The origin of CICA

  • The idea of convening the CICA was first proposed by Kazakhstan President Nursultan Nazarbayev on 5 October 1992, at the 47th Session of the United Nations General Assembly.
  • The first meeting of the CICA Ministers of Foreign Affairs was held on 14 September 1999 with participation of 15 Member States.
  • The ‘Declaration on Principles Guiding Relations between CICA Member States’ was adopted at this meeting.
  • The first CICA summit was held on 4 June 2002 with participation of 16 Member States and Almaty Act, the charter of the CICA, was adopted in this summit.