Inauguration of Leopard Safari

Inauguration of Leopard Safari


South India’s first and the country’s largest leopard safari was inaugurated by Karnataka Environment Minister Eshwar Khandre at Bannerghatta Biological Park.


GS-03 (Environment)

Key highlights:

  • Safari Specifications: The safari area covers 20 hectares, as per Central Zoo Authority guidelines, and features natural rocky outcrops and semi-deciduous forest, enclosed with a 4.5-meter-high vertical chain-link mesh and MS sheets.
  • Leopard Population: Eight leopards have been released into the safari area, highlighting the park’s significant population of free-ranging leopards.
  • Cost and Construction: The leopard safari facility was constructed at a cost of ₹4.5 crore.
  • Rescue and Education: The park often rescues leopard cubs due to increasing human-animal conflict. These cubs will be raised in the safari to educate visitors about leopards and conservation efforts.
  • New Initiatives: Minister Khandre also inaugurated a renovated elephant weaning centre, a babycare room at the butterfly park, a children’s play area, an entrance arch, and flagged off electric buggies and zoo installations.
  • Future Developments: Proposed new enclosures include naturalistic areas for emus and rheas (₹50 lakh), a hunting cheetah enclosure (₹1.5 crore), a hamadrya and olive baboon enclosure (₹1.5 crore), and an Indian grey wolf enclosure (₹1.5 crore). Skywalks are also being developed to connect the zoo and butterfly park.


National Board for Wildlife (NBWL) :

  • The National Board for Wildlife (NBWL) serves as the highest authority in India for addressing all issues pertaining to wildlife.
  • Established under Section 5A of the Wildlife (Protection) Act, 1972, it holds statutory status.
  • The NBWL offers guidance to the government on wildlife conservation policies and initiatives and grants approvals for projects within and in proximity to national parks and other designated protected regions.
  • Chaired by the Prime Minister, the NBWL consists of 47 members, including three Members of Parliament, five representatives from non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and ten distinguished experts in ecology, conservation, and environmental advocacy.