India, China troops disengage at LAC friction point in Ladakh

India, China troops disengage at LAC friction point in Ladakh

For Prelims

About Line of Actual Control

  • The Line of Actual Control (LAC) is the military held demarcation line that separates the Indian-controlled territory from the Chinese-controlled territory.
  • This was set up after the 1962 Indo-Chinese war. The Chinese currently control the Aksai Chin region.
  • LAC is not agreed upon by the two countries, and is neither delineated on a map nor demarcated on the ground.
It is divided into three sectors:
  • the eastern sector which covers Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim and is 1346 km long;
  • the middle sector in Uttarakhand and Himachal Pradesh which is 545 km long;
  • and the western sector in Ladakh which is 1597 km long.

About McMahon Line
  • The 3,488 km long boundary between India and China is known as McMahon Line after its designer Sir Henry McMahon.
  • McMahon Line was created as a result of a tripartite conference in 1913 between the British Indian Government, Government of Tibet and Government of China.
  • It spans 890 kilometres from the corner of Bhutan to the Isu Razi Pass on the Myanmar border, along the crest of the Himalayas.
  • China refuses to acknowledge McMahon line as the border and has claimed Indian territories as part of their territory.

           Source The Hindu

To know more about the history of China click here