Krishi Sakhi Initiative

Krishi Sakhi Initiative


The Prime Minister awarded certificates to over 30,000 self-help groups, recognizing them as Krishi Sakhis in Varanasi.


GS-2 GS-3 (Scheme, Agriculture)

Overview of Krishi Sakhi:

  • The Krishi Sakhi Convergence Programme (KSCP) aims to empower rural women by training and certifying them as Krishi Sakhis, who will serve as Para-extension Workers in agriculture.
  • This initiative supports the objectives of the “Lakhpati Didi” Program, focusing on economic upliftment and skill development of rural women.
  • Phase 1 of the programme is currently active in 12 states: Gujarat, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Odisha, Jharkhand, Andhra Pradesh, and Meghalaya.

Role and Training:

Krishi Sakhis are selected due to their trusted status in the community and their farming experience. The comprehensive training includes:

  • Agro-ecological practices from land preparation to harvest
  • Organizing farmer field schools
  • Seed bank establishment and management
  • Soil health and moisture conservation practices
  • Integrated farming systems
  • Basics of livestock management
  • Preparation and use of bio-inputs and establishment of bio-input shops
  • Basic communication skills

Post-training, the Krishi Sakhis will undergo a proficiency test. Successful candidates will be certified as Para-extension Workers, enabling them to implement various Agriculture Ministry schemes for a fixed resource fee.