National Sports Awards 2023 Announcement


Recently, the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports has revealed the recipients of the National Sports Awards 2023.

Main Highlights:

  • The President of India will give away the awards on 9th January 2024.
  • Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award 2023 will be given to Chirag Chandrashekhar Shetty and Rankireddy Satwik Sai Raj, both badminton players.
  • ‘Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award’ is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson for the previous four years.
  • 26 sportspersons will receive the Arjuna Award.
    • ‘The Arjuna Award for Outstanding Performance in Sports and Games’: For good performance over the previous four years and for showing qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline.
  • ‘The Dronacharya Award for Outstanding Coaches in Sports and Games’: To coaches for doing outstanding and meritorious work consistently and for enabling sportspersons to excel in International events.
  • The Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime Achievement in Sports and Games’: To honour sportspersons who have contributed to sports by their performance and who continue to contribute to the promotion of sports events after their retirement.
  • Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy: Is given to the overall top-performing university in inter-university tournaments.