New START treaty

New START treaty

#GS 01 World History, #GS 02 International Relations

For Prelims

New START treaty

  • New START Treaty was signed in Prague by US and Russia on 8 April 2010, as a replacement to the START (Strategic Arms Reduction Treaty).
  • The New START Treaty is the only bilateral agreement currently existing between the US and Russia and it limits the number of nuclear warheads that can be deployed by Russia and United States.
  • The New START Treaty entered into force on February 5, 2011 and was supposed to expire in February 2021.
  • The United States and the Russian Federation have presently agreed to extend the treaty till February 4, 2026.
  • The treaty also includes a standard withdrawal clause that is found in most arms control agreements.
  • Both the United States and the Russian Federation have met the limits of the New START Treaty by February 5, 2018, and have stayed at or below them ever since.
  • Due to the rising tension between the US and Russia, each have been accusing the other of not complying with the treaty.

Strategic Arms Reduction Treaty

  • START was the precursor to the New START treaty and was signed in 1991 and entered into force on 5 December 1994.
  • The treaty required the destruction of excess delivery vehicles which was to be verified using an intrusive verification regime that involved on-site inspections, the regular exchange of information (including telemetry), and the use of national technical means (i.e., satellites).

Source “U.S. ‘destroyed’ arms control pact: Moscow

For more updates Click Here